What primary subscribers say…

 

62 reviews from primary teachers  stretching back to 2009, most recent first

Key Stage History is quite simply the best resource around for teaching History in primary schools. The brilliantly resourced schemes of work are incredibly well-sequenced and allow children to continually build their knowledge and understanding as well as make connections with what they already know. In addition to deepening their knowledge and understanding, there is also a fantastic focus on key subject-specific skills. Children in all year groups have absolutely loved the lessons from Key Stage History and are always incredibly interested and engaged. If anyone is looking to improve the teaching of history in their school then I would not hesitate in directing them to this site! Tom Keene, Fairfield Community Primary School, Leicestershire,  (November 2019)

Key Stage History is my favourite teaching tool when implementing historical enquiries in the primary classroom. The website is really easy to navigate, meaning I can find enquiries for all of the history topics that are being taught in school from Year 1 right through to Year 6. The outstanding planning is really easy to follow and comes with fantastic, well thought out resources which are ready to print off and use. My Year 2 class have been incredibly engaged while following the Captain Robert Falcon Scott enquiry, which is planned and resourced in such a way that children from all ability groups have been able to make progress with their history knowledge and skills! The Key Stage History website offers an easy method of contact and when I asked a question about one of the resources, I received a reply that very same day! I wholeheartedly recommend the Key Stage History website as being a vital resource for any primary history teacher or coordinatorEmily Holdich, Mount Sorrel Primary ( October 2019)

We began using Key Stage History two years ago, after reviewing the way we teach history. The site is fantastic and we haven’t looked back. It offers exciting and engaging lessons and it has really helped improve the way we teach history across our school. It takes a different angle to the normal dry lessons you find online and supports fantastic investigative skills. Lessons are brilliantly resourced and the children really enjoy the challenge. When budgets are tight, this is still a resource we all want to keep across school.
Sam Dunne, Colne Engaine Primary School, Essex. ( August, 2019)

Keystage History is my go-to resource for planning inspiring and detailed history lessons. For any history subject leader, it is indispensable in developing a robust and effective history curriculum that the children engage with.  My previous school has subscribed to the site for several years, with the range of ideas and resources being invaluable. Starting at a new school, I have bought a personal subscription for me, and I will be recommending it to my history coordinator. Matthew Smith,Woodchester Endowed Primary School (August 2019)

Keystage History is a wonderful website, with outstanding, well-resourced lessons to make planning and teaching history easy and enjoyable. The lessons are interesting and appealing for pupils, with a range of activities to suit all types of learner. Resources are of good quality and easy to organise alongside the detailed lesson plans. An extremely valuable resource to invest in for your school at a very reasonable price! Hannah Law (August 2019-re-subscriber)

I first started using Keystage History when I moved from Early Years to Year 1 because I was looking for a resource that would engage young children who find the concept of ‘history’ difficult to grasp.  This site was perfect.  The photographs immediately prompt children to ask questions about the past so they are a fantastic starting point.  Children think for themselves as they find answers to the big questions.  I have continued to use this resource for teaching history in both Upper and Lower Key Stage 2.  As an SLT and a mentor for trainee teachers, I have had no hesitation in recommending this resource for improving teacher subject knowledge and confidence.  Thank you. Hazel Bennett     ( August 2019)

Key stage history is one of the best websites about for teaching and leading history. My school has had a subscription for many years. We have really taken on board the idea of key questions and used these to focus our topics. As history subject leader, I’ve used a lot of the ‘advice’ e.g. what does good history look like and when I was a new leader, it was a great place to start for what I should be doing/ looking out for. All year groups have used some of the plans/outstanding lessons,  some favourites have been the Egyptian tomb and the Anglo-Saxon punishments. It’s great that new things are added regularly and I use the website regularly to keep the curriculum up to date.  Rebecca Puddephatt, Panshanger primary Herts, (August 2019)

I absolutely love this website and teach loads of lessons from your fantastic plans and resources in units on World War Two, Stone Age, Romans, Benin kingdom and the Tudors. Many thanks, they are by far the best history resources I have found in twenty years of teaching. Mick Collard  St. Matthew’s primary school , Cambridge,  (June 2019)

Our subscription to Keystage History provides us with access to excellent planning and resources to support us in delivering high quality history lessons.  The children have found their learning engaging and provided them with opportunities to promote their curiosity, questioning and analytical skills.  We thoroughly recommend this subscription. Y3/4 teacher, Kirkby on Bain CE Primary School, Lincolnshire (April 2019)

At a time when school funds are stretched and advisory teachers for many subjects are a thing of the past, it has been extremely helpful to have access to the wealth of information on this website. We are in the process of re-designing our curriculum and are re-focusing on what high quality history teaching and learning looks like. I have found the resources Key Stage History produces very supportive, both in terms of curriculum planning and delivering training for staff. Charlotte Barrington Deputy Headteacher William Davis Primary School, Wood Close, London E2 (March 2019)

Our class have just used your Moon Landing planning and thoroughly enjoyed it. They loved being out of their seats looking for clues, matching evidence and working in groups to sequence and discuss. The debate as to whether or not they would go to the moon if they were given the opportunity led to some interesting discussions. Thank you for yet another inspiring unitKaren Davies KS1 teacher (January 2019)

I discovered Keystage history a couple of years ago and think it’s one of the most thoughtful and inspiring resources I’ve found in a decade of teaching. Keystage History not only helps me to captivate children grappling with the past but encourages a deeper level of thinking found too rarely in today’s curriculum. Laura Rogers, Harbinger Primary School, Tower Hamlets (December 2018)

I would thoroughly recommend the keystage history website.  It is the most authoritative and comprehensive resource that I know of.  It is invaluable as a means of keeping up to date with the latest curriculum developments.  The site enables access to top quality resources and also exemplifies the best of current enquiry based practice in teaching children the concepts of history and the skills used by historians.  Teacher education students appreciate the examples of medium term planning, the lesson exemplars and the thoughtful and realistic pointers towards subject leadership.  Access to the site has really boosted their confidence as future subject leaders and advocates for the subject.
Dr Sue Anderson-Faithful, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Education and Social Care, University of Winchester (September 2018)

Key Stage History is an essential resource for subject development, as it provides top quality new teaching resources and first class advice on leading improving departments. It is at the top of my purchase  list every year. Neil has gone above and beyond my expectations with helpful feedback and advice on tailoring the approaches he provides. I have used many of his outstanding lessons and smart tasks in observed lessons to very good effect. Karl Hector,Head of History Gildredge house School, Eastbourne (May 2018)

Staff love this resource by the way – it has totally transformed history in our school. The best primary history site around.  Simon Lawman-headteacher ,St Joseph’s Withnell school, Chorley, Lancs . (April 2018)

Firstly, I would like to say I LOVE your lessons and more importantly, so do the children!! Thank you so much for your excellent approach to the teaching of History. I have been using your lessons to teach Tudors and WWII to my Year 6 class over the last two years and they have loved every minute. The ‘Key Questions’ provide a clear format for each lesson and the tasks allow the lesson objectives to be achieved in a fun and investigative manner – this is exactly how History should be taught! Mrs D, Holy Cross Catholic Primary School, Swindon (April 2018)

This has been an excellent resource which has been used across our school, from KS1 to KS3. The lesson resources are pitched just right and the children love the opportunities it offers to undertake historical investigation. This really fires their imagination. It has also enabled us to teach new and diverse topics to the children.
Vincenzo Capozzoli, Hazlegrove Prep. (February 2018)

Keystage history is an incredibly supportive resource. With very few resources available that can bring history to life in the classroom whilst still embedding history skills into teaching, Key stage history is a real find.  Each lesson allows children to ask relevant historical questions about sources and their reliability as well as providing them with the contextual knowledge behind a topic whilst keeping the learning fun and interesting. Such a fantastic resource. Thank you Keystage history!  Hannah Coulman, Henry Cavendish School  (October 2017)

My school subscribed to keystage history after using one of the outstanding Ancient Egyptian lessons.  I have found it incredibly useful both in terms of planning and leading the subject.  We are looking forward to using the superb new Crime and Punishment planning.  The resources look so comprehensive and engaging – especially the highwayman lesson which will link perfectly with our poetry unit on The Highwayman; I have already searched Amazon for a highwayman mask and hat!  Juliet Broadbent – History Subject leader, Driffield School (September 2017)

Key Stage History is a superb resource that is used enthusiastically by the whole staff. Being able to consult an expert when we are planning our history based topics has been invaluable in making lessons exciting and focused – the outstanding lessons and smart tasks are particularly popular with colleagues ! Richard Scarrow, Assistant Headteacher, Old Leake Primary, Lincs (August 2017)

I taught the Maya Civilisation unit from your site last term and the children loved it (as did I) so thank you for that.  Also, our Year 5 teacher was impressed with the Anglo Saxon unit with her class.  Sean Halligan, St Georges RC Primary School, Warminster (August 2017)

I could not recommend the resources enough. The planning, resources and guidance on this site have completely transformed how I have taught History at KS2. The Medium and Short term planning provide the structure and expertise to deliver memorable lessons – the children have learned so much and are so much more engaged! I have recently renewed my subscription to support in developing the school’s Long Term Planning.  This has to be one of the best resources for primary school teachers anywhere!  Jonothan Shaun Holcroft, Year 6 Class Teacher, Design Technology and Computing Subject Leader St Edmund’s RC Primary School,Salford  (July 2017)

Everybody finds Keystage history really useful and use it regularly.  Thanks.  Ann Riley,  Park Brow Primary School (June 2017)

We’ve had a subscription to Keystage History for a number of years and have really valued the creative, interactive ideas that have added buzz and excitement to our lessons and planning. We really appreciate how thoroughly relevant, prepared and well-resourced each task is.  Alison Wormald, Highgate Junior School (June 2017)

I so enjoy teaching the Viking unit of work, it has a real sense of purpose and engages my class from the outset by empowering them to decide for themselves whether the Vikings were really as vicious as they are perceived to be. Brilliant resources, thoughtful and stimulating activities. Thank you!  Amy Rosier, Morley Memorial Primary School, subscribers since 2012 (January 2017)

I took out a subscription for myself to see what it was like – and now our head teacher wants it for everyone! I did the Catherine of Aragon Highs and lows activity in the playground with our Year 5s yesterday and they loved it. We had chalk and made a massive happiness/sadness graph and they are now working in groups to present the information for display. Susannah Cannell, SW19 5ER (May 2016)

I am so glad that we found Keystage History when the new curriculum was implemented – I strongly believe it has changed the way we approach History. Not only is there a great amount of CPD ,there are also outstanding lesson plans and materials .These fully encompass teaching historical thinking and investigation as a skill and also prompt the children to see what conclusions they can draw for themselves. The suggested questions prompt deeper learning and connections between the topics. Stephanie Daley, London Fields Primary School, (March 2016). Stephanie’s school has recently won the Historical Association’s Quality Mark Gold Award for primary history.

For the History subject leader this site is as close to a national treasure as you will find. Fabulous guidance and support; up to date advice and ideas, and the lesson ideas – wow! The lesson ideas provide everything the non-specialist primary teacher needs to help them develop into a top quality teacher of top quality history. Becoming a member was easily the best decision I have made as a History leader and the single decision that has had the most impact on the raising the standard of History teaching and learning in our school.  Jason Redmond, Headteacher and history subject leader, Flixton Junior school, Manchester (October 2015)

I taught the lesson on Theseus and the Minotaur to my Y3 class. The lesson was amazing because it really captured the children’s imagination.  They were so excited, loved it.  This was one of the best lessons I’ve had with them. Gill Kenny, Bathwick St Mary Primary School (May 2016)

Can we renew again please. It is such a brilliant resource that we can’t do without it now! Thank you. Pippa Taylor, Malden Parochial Primary School (September 2015)

Thanks to your great ideas our Mayan topic was a huge success. We found your resources to be very helpful and easily accessible. The plans were really detailed and the children enjoyed their learning. We combined your ideas with others and our Literacy plans also ran concurrently with our History so whatever they were learning about in history, fed back into their writing. The outcome was a set of fantastic books. Ben Trew History subject leader, Michael Drayton Junior school (May 2015)

The lessons are great and I’m loving teaching them. Karen Davis, Salford Priors, Warwickshire (May 2015)

Thank you for such a great website with fantastic resources.  You have transformed my teaching of history.  Cherry Hegarty, Liverpool College Prep School (April 2015)

Just wanted to let you know that the Benin topic is going really well. Children are very inspired. Anna Pavard, Aqueduct Primary School, (February 2015)

I’m currently using the Benin planning which is excellent and really exciting the class. Thanks very much for the draft materials for the new lessons. Rachel Bower, Woods Foundation School (February 2015)

I’ve been history coordinator for a year now and the difference is tremendous thanks to you and your website. Sally Rawthore, Highfield Hall Primary School (February 2015)

The draft resources relating to Early Islamic Civilisation on Key Questions 4-6 which Neil sent us in advance of publication have been invaluable this term.  Each question encourages pupils to use higher level thinking skills as they compare, contrast, assimilate and evaluate evidence.  Pupils have been inspired by the activities and well prepared for their visit to the Islamic Culture centre in Berwick Street, London.  Many thanks to Neil Thompson for the support he has shown us as we introduced this exciting and relevant new topic to our school curriculum. Eleanor Baston, St Josephs RC Primary School Guildford (December 2014)

I subscribed to the website on the 7th November and wanted to say a huge thanks, it’s making a big impact on how I lead the subject at my school.  Ruth Thomas, Clerkenwell Primary School (December 2014)

I received an ‘outstanding’ grade when using your ideas for lesson 2 of the Mayan planning – so thank you!  Alison (November 2014)

So glad I persuaded our school to join this web site. I love the lessons, which are history skilled based rather than much that is about which is just research and learning facts.  I did the Sutton Hoo lesson for an observation when we had a visiting Ofsted Inspector supporting our head with monitoring.  He was most impressed and really pleased that he could see the skills being taught.  I got as near to outstanding as he ever gives as did my colleague who also did a lesson from KSH.  What is great is the support from Neil, who is amazingly quick to respond to any queries.  Paula Luxton, Mere Primary School (October 2014)

Very excited by this early Islam topic. I love the ideas in your planning and the lessons are really inspiring! Margaret Fahey, St Patrick’s Catholic Primary School, Waltham (October 2014)

Can I thank you for your wonderful work which has been absolutely invaluable to me as a non specialist in charge of History. Cherry Hegarty (October 2014)

Just wanted to let you know that the History lessons have gone so well. The children love the challenge of a question as a framework and this leads to all sorts of other questions. The ppt and slides have been printed off and adapted to my class . They have really worked well in partnered work and group work and this is leading to lots of Art, Drama and English work. I couldn’t have asked for more really. I wasn’t looking forwards to losing my Victorian topic to the Stone to Iron Age but it has really been a joy.  As a school, we are really keen on having a site licence for the resource. Gill Kenny, Bathwick St Mary Primary School, Bath (October 2014)

I think your website is fabulous. Suzanne Andrews (August 2014)

Fantastic website – a really intelligent and investigative approach to history. Liz Ogilvie (August 2014)

The site is very comprehensive, mapping out excellent resources and class activities and suggesting effective assessment strategies. These support materials are varied and so will facilitate different ideas and teaching practices.  This is an excellent resource!   Rebecca Reid, Christ Church Primary School (May 2014)

I just want to say what a fantastic resource the site has been for us. As a school we have a commitment to thinking skills and try as much as possible to make our History teaching skills based rather than reliant on the acquisition of knowledge. The outstanding lessons are great and are very adaptable. Susan Roberts, Deputy Head, Stephen Perse Foundation Junior School  (September 2013)

The Keystage history website has been of great use and the children have particularly enjoyed the lessons that I have used.Anna Brown, Arkengarthdale Primary School (August 2013)

As a history co-ordinator at a primary school I have found the Keystage history Online website an incredibly invaluable resource in helping me in the role of history co-ordinator and in supporting my colleagues. It is clearly laid out and covers all aspects of history teaching and learning, in an-in depth yet very user friendly way. These include areas such as progression, assessment and inclusion. I cannot recommend the site highly enough and have just subscribed for another year. Many thanks. Liz Greenhalgh, History leader Morley Memorial Primary School, Cambridgeshire (November 2012)

As a history co-ordinator at a primary school I have found the Keystage history Online website an incredibly invaluable resource in helping me in the role of history co-ordinator and in supporting my colleagues. It is clearly laid out and covers all aspects of history teaching and learning, in an-in depth yet very user friendly way. These include areas such as progression, assessment and inclusion. I cannot recommend the site highly enough and have just subscribed for another year. Many thanks.

Liz Greenhalgh, History leader Morley Memorial Primary School, Cambridgeshire (November 2012)

I find the site invaluable. I rate it excellent in virtually every category. I have also incorporated the individual lesson plans on the site and the ideas from the planning into a complete unit of work. 

Rebecca Hann, Assistant Headteacher & Senco, Thomas Walling Primary School (September 2012)

I was initially inspired by a couple of fantastic lessons from the Outstanding lessons section. I tried them out with my Y1 / 2 class and they worked an absolute treat. The resources and photographs really got the children thinking and sparked their interest. Looking more generally at the site, the lessons are relevant, fun and interesting and it’s also nice to have lots of advice about how to improve my teaching in the Teaching Approaches and other sections. 

 Claire Bradshaw, Glendale Infant School (May 2012)

Key Stage History is a fantastic resource for both the skilled and unskilled practitioner. The important elements that every teacher recognises are pulled together into a central area that is regularly reviewed and updated. The quality of the Outstanding Lessons section is second to none – it is a very rare occurrence to be able to pick up a lesson plan from a website and teach it as it is written knowing that all pupils are likely to make progress. Finally, you know that somebody who has ‘been there, done it and got the t-shirt’ is at the end of an email willing to respond and develop on anything contained within the site. This resource is exactly what every subject needs! 

Mike Mullen, Knights Enham Junior School Andover (November 2011)

Richard McFahn, Humanities adviser in West Sussex writes in October 2011
My first port of call when asked to work with teachers across the age range is always keystagehistory.co.uk. This website is simply immense. It has clear, sensible advice, training activities and outstanding lessons to download and use off the peg. I cannot recommend keystagehistory highly enough. It really is a treasure chest of brilliant ideas and offers practical solutions for all teachers across the age range. It covers every area you need to know about as a teacher, subject leader and a history adviser. It is like having your own on-line expert always available at your finger tips! The subscription is money very well spent.

I’d like to resubscribe.  It’s brilliant.  Eliot Watkins, King’s College Junior School (June 2011)

Alexandra Wilson, St Aubyns School writes (December 2010) I just wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for providing such an excellent and resourceful site.  I am in the process or re-writing a scheme of work for Year 6 pupils and have found your site not only informative but extremely useful in terms of resources.  My pupils loved the lesson on the Victorian census!  We had great fun and the class really developed enquiring minds! Thanks!

Sarah Atherton, Deputy Headteacher, Belleville School writes (November 2010) We have spent a lot of time talking about how we develop an understanding of what history is with staff and how we develop historians in our classrooms so reading the subheadings on your site really struck a chord!  I also really liked the comprehensive nature – looking at curriculum design, planning etc and the sample outstanding lessons were great and I could really see how they would work in our school both for the teachers and the children.

I signed up for Keystage History looking for some guidance and support after being appointed as History Coordinator at my school.  I’ve found it a really worthwhile investment, and have found the ‘Outstanding Lessons’ and ‘100 Teaching Ideas’ sections particularly useful when trying to generate innovative lesson ideas. (October 2010)
Jon Whitely, History Coordinator, Baden-Powell and St Peter’s CE Middle School

I used lots of the Ancient Greece lessons last year. The children enjoyed them especially the debate lesson on building the Parthenon and history detectives. I especially liked the pot lesson as it helped to increase their observation and deductive powers. The children loved finding out about history by looking at the pots. We had a Greek day and they debated sending the Parthenon marbles back or not. They thought it was great. (August 2010)
Linda Martin, History Subject Leader, Tiptoe Primary School, New Forest.

Key Stage History is a fantastic resource for primary school users. Apart from the ‘Outstanding’ rated Ofsted lessons with resources (covering most KS2 topics) there is a good range of medium and long term planning centred around the all important Key Questions coupled with Learning Objectives.  For the subject leader/coordinator there is even more. A wealth of (up to date) information covering progression (an Ofsted concern at KS2) and assessment with excellent resources.  A must for any primary school! (August 2010)
Sarah James, South Bersted CE Primary School

I have been truly inspired by the inspirational and creative ideas, and the resources are fabulous.  Teachers are so busy that it is great to have things at our finger tips and to try and adapt for various classes and year groups. (June 2009)
Lorraine Gribbon, Portishead Primary School, Portishead

Simple Share Buttons