Site Reviews

Primary reviews click here

What people say about Neil’s INSET work

We’ve found this website to be a fantastic resource for a number of years now. The outstanding lessons section is a really great starting place for planning a history study unit. We’ve found that the activities need little, if no, adapting, and the clear teacher lesson notes make it accessible to non-specialists. What I particularly like is that the lessons are enquiry based, and allow primary teachers to plan and teach real historical questions in an accessible, fun and challenging way. The 100 great activities for teaching history is a superb resource for developing creative ideas and there’s lots of sound advice on planning, progression and assessment. The section of the site on long-term planning proved to be invaluable to me recently when I was asked to plan a new history curriculum, as it has a great model on planning with skills and concepts from the National Curriculum. What’s more key stage history is remarkably good value for money!   Alan Cutts (History Lead, Spa Academy, Askern, Doncaster Aug.2020).

This website has been the find of the year for me. As a non-specialist History Subject Leader, it has provided me with so much support and guidance as to what it really means to ‘teach history’. The lessons are interesting, extremely well-resourced and motivating for the pupils. There is a wealth of material for teachers to read in order to further their knowledge and understanding of what history is all about. I am currently looking at progression across the school and have found the articles on the site to be both thought-provoking and supportive. All in all, a superb find. Julie Bennett, Bollington Cross CE Primary, May 2020.

As a new History subject leader, I found the task of setting out a new curriculum for my school quite daunting. However with the guidance and resources from Keystagehistory, I have felt empowered to develop an exciting and clear curriculum which adheres to the new OFSTED 2019 framework! Will Pavely, Glebe Primary School May 2020.

As the history lead at my school, I have been using this time in lockdown to improve our history curriculum, so that it effectively complies with the new OFSTED 2019 framework. After looking at different plans, rationales and teaching ideas, I finally found everything I had been looking for and more with Keystage History. I can’t wait to get back to school and start teaching history once again! Charley Chanter HertfordHeath primary , Herts May 2020

As a new history coordinator this year, with a completely revamped curriculum, I felt a little out of my depth and didn’t know where to start. I had previously used the free samples from Keystage History in my own teaching, and saw the website had a wealth of information for history coordinators. I persuaded my head to sign me up and it’s been one of the best decisions I’ve made! From up to date articles on historical pedagogy, to the major cornerstones of progression and assessment, I now feel I’m making headway and can’t wait to get back into school to put my plans into action. Thank you! Caroline Laidlaw, Forest park primary April 2020

Your site is wonderful &  incredibly useful.  As a new subject lead for history, I have found the support available on Keystage history absolutely invaluable.  What I have found the most useful is that all of the ideas have a full rationale and reasoning behind them so that it has helped me tailor the history curriculum specifically to our school’s context.  The lesson plans and activity ideas are well planned and sequenced with the history skills clearly in mind, to help ensure that our teachers are not just ‘doing history’, but actually ‘teaching history’.  The CPD activities to use with staff are also incredibly helpful to ensure our staff are implementing the curriculum effectively.Thank you! Tanya Zalar, Deputy Headteacher, St Peters Cof E, London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham (March 2020)

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your excellent service. Our staff find your website extremely useful and I have had only positive feedback on the quality of the lessons. As a subject coordinator, your website is very informative and has helped shape History teaching in our school. We look forward to continued use of it. Peter Marriott St Bridget’s CE Primary School, West Kirby, Wirral ( Dec.2019)

As a newly appointed History coordinator for my school, charged with the responsibility to re-write our history curriculum, Keystage History has been invaluable. The quality of resources and planning, the guidance Neil provides on best practice and how to handle deep dives has instilled confidence and been beyond helpful. Moreover, the children from across the school have thoroughly enjoyed the lessons we have used so far and provoked countless debates and questions in class. I urge any History leader to become a member! Bryony Smith, Smallberry Green Primary School in Isleworth, Hounslow. (December 2019)

 Key Stage History is quite simply the best resource around for teaching History in primary schools. The brilliantly resourced schemes of work are incredibly well-sequenced and allow children to continually build their knowledge and understanding as well as make connections with what they already know. In addition to deepening their knowledge and understanding, there is also a fantastic focus on key subject-specific skills. Children in all year groups have absolutely loved the lessons from Key Stage History and are always incredibly interested and engaged. If anyone is looking to improve the teaching of history in their school then I would not hesitate in directing them to this site! Tom Keene, Fairfield Community Primary School, Leicestershire,  (November 2019)

Key Stage History is my favourite teaching tool when implementing historical enquiries in the primary classroom. The website is really easy to navigate, meaning I can find enquiries for all of the history topics that are being taught in school from Year 1 right through to Year 6. The outstanding planning is really easy to follow and comes with fantastic, well thought out resources which are ready to print off and use. My Year 2 class have been incredibly engaged while following the Captain Robert Falcon Scott enquiry, which is planned and resourced in such a way that children from all ability groups have been able to make progress with their history knowledge and skills! The Key Stage History website offers an easy method of contact and when I asked a question about one of the resources, I received a reply that very same day! I wholeheartedly recommend the Key Stage History website as being a vital resource for any primary history teacher or coordinatorEmily Holdich, Mount Sorrel Primary ( October 2019)

We began using Key Stage History two years ago, after reviewing the way we teach history. The site is fantastic and we haven’t looked back. It offers exciting and engaging lessons and it has really helped improve the way we teach history across our school. It takes a different angle to the normal dry lessons you find online and supports fantastic investigative skills. Lessons are brilliantly resourced and the children really enjoy the challenge. When budgets are tight, this is still a resource we all want to keep across school.
Sam Dunne, Colne Engaine Primary School, Essex. ( August, 2019)

Keystage History is my go-to resource for planning inspiring and detailed history lessons. For any history subject leader, it is indispensable in developing a robust and effective history curriculum that the children engage with.  My previous school has subscribed to the site for several years, with the range of ideas and resources being invaluable. Starting at a new school, I have bought a personal subscription for me, and I will be recommending it to my history coordinator. Matthew Smith,Woodchester Endowed Primary School (August 2019)

Keystage History is a wonderful website, with outstanding, well-resourced lessons to make planning and teaching history easy and enjoyable. The lessons are interesting and appealing for pupils, with a range of activities to suit all types of learner. Resources are of good quality and easy to organise alongside the detailed lesson plans. An extremely valuable resource to invest in for your school at a very reasonable price! Hannah Law (August 2019-re-subscriber)

I first started using Keystage History when I moved from Early Years to Year 1 because I was looking for a resource that would engage young children who find the concept of ‘history’ difficult to grasp.  This site was perfect.  The photographs immediately prompt children to ask questions about the past so they are a fantastic starting point.  Children think for themselves as they find answers to the big questions.  I have continued to use this resource for teaching history in both Upper and Lower Key Stage 2.  As an SLT and a mentor for trainee teachers, I have had no hesitation in recommending this resource for improving teacher subject knowledge and confidence.  Thank you. Hazel Bennett     ( August 2019)

Key stage history is one of the best websites about for teaching and leading history. My school has had a subscription for many years. We have really taken on board the idea of key questions and used these to focus our topics. As history subject leader, I’ve used a lot of the ‘advice’ e.g. what does good history look like and when I was a new leader, it was a great place to start for what I should be doing/ looking out for. All year groups have used some of the plans/outstanding lessons,  some favourites have been the Egyptian tomb and the Anglo-Saxon punishments. It’s great that new things are added regularly and I use the website regularly to keep the curriculum up to date.  Rebecca Puddephatt, Panshanger primary Herts, (August 2019)

I absolutely love this website and teach loads of lessons from your fantastic plans and resources in units on World War Two, Stone Age, Romans, Benin kingdom and the Tudors. Many thanks, they are by far the best history resources I have found in twenty years of teaching. Mick Collard  St. Matthew’s primary school , Cambridge,  (June 2019)

Our subscription to Keystage History provides us with access to excellent planning and resources to support us in delivering high quality history lessons.  The children have found their learning engaging and provided them with opportunities to promote their curiosity, questioning and analytical skills.  We thoroughly recommend this subscription. Y3/4 teacher, Kirkby on Bain CE Primary School, Lincolnshire (April 2019)

At a time when school funds are stretched and advisory teachers for many subjects are a thing of the past, it has been extremely helpful to have access to the wealth of information on this website. We are in the process of re-designing our curriculum and are re-focusing on what high quality history teaching and learning looks like. I have found the resources Key Stage History produces very supportive, both in terms of curriculum planning and delivering training for staff. Charlotte Barrington Deputy Headteacher William Davis Primary School, Wood Close, London E2 (March 2019)

Our class have just used your Moon Landing planning and thoroughly enjoyed it. They loved being out of their seats looking for clues, matching evidence and working in groups to sequence and discuss. The debate as to whether or not they would go to the moon if they were given the opportunity led to some interesting discussions. Thank you for yet another inspiring unitKaren Davies KS1 teacher (January 2019)

I discovered Keystage history a couple of years ago and think it’s one of the most thoughtful and inspiring resources I’ve found in a decade of teaching. Keystage History not only helps me to captivate children grappling with the past but encourages a deeper level of thinking found too rarely in today’s curriculum. Laura Rogers, Harbinger Primary School, Tower Hamlets (December 2018)

I would thoroughly recommend the keystage history website.  It is the most authoritative and comprehensive resource that I know of.  It is invaluable as a means of keeping up to date with the latest curriculum developments.  The site enables access to top quality resources and also exemplifies the best of current enquiry based practice in teaching children the concepts of history and the skills used by historians.  Teacher education students appreciate the examples of medium term planning, the lesson exemplars and the thoughtful and realistic pointers towards subject leadership.  Access to the site has really boosted their confidence as future subject leaders and advocates for the subject.
Dr Sue Anderson-Faithful, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Education and Social Care, University of Winchester (September 2018)

Key Stage History is an essential resource for subject development, as it provides top quality new teaching resources and first class advice on leading improving departments. It is at the top of my purchase  list every year. Neil has gone above and beyond my expectations with helpful feedback and advice on tailoring the approaches he provides. I have used many of his outstanding lessons and smart tasks in observed lessons to very good effect. Karl Hector,Head of History Gildredge house School, Eastbourne (May 2018)

Staff love this resource by the way – it has totally transformed history in our school. The best primary history site around.  Simon Lawman-headteacher ,St Joseph’s Withnell school, Chorley, Lancs . (April 2018)

Firstly, I would like to say I LOVE your lessons and more importantly, so do the children!! Thank you so much for your excellent approach to the teaching of History. I have been using your lessons to teach Tudors and WWII to my Year 6 class over the last two years and they have loved every minute. The ‘Key Questions’ provide a clear format for each lesson and the tasks allow the lesson objectives to be achieved in a fun and investigative manner – this is exactly how History should be taught! Mrs D, Holy Cross Catholic Primary School, Swindon (April 2018)

This has been an excellent resource which has been used across our school, from KS1 to KS3. The lesson resources are pitched just right and the children love the opportunities it offers to undertake historical investigation. This really fires their imagination. It has also enabled us to teach new and diverse topics to the children.
Vincenzo Capozzoli, Hazlegrove Prep. (February 2018)

Keystage history is an incredibly supportive resource. With very few resources available that can bring history to life in the classroom whilst still embedding history skills into teaching, Key stage history is a real find.  Each lesson allows children to ask relevant historical questions about sources and their reliability as well as providing them with the contextual knowledge behind a topic whilst keeping the learning fun and interesting. Such a fantastic resource. Thank you Keystage history!  Hannah Coulman, Henry Cavendish School  (October 2017)

My school subscribed to keystage history after using one of the outstanding Ancient Egyptian lessons.  I have found it incredibly useful both in terms of planning and leading the subject.  We are looking forward to using the superb new Crime and Punishment planning.  The resources look so comprehensive and engaging – especially the highwayman lesson which will link perfectly with our poetry unit on The Highwayman; I have already searched Amazon for a highwayman mask and hat!  Juliet Broadbent – History Subject leader, Driffield School (September 2017)

Key Stage History is a superb resource that is used enthusiastically by the whole staff. Being able to consult an expert when we are planning our history based topics has been invaluable in making lessons exciting and focused – the outstanding lessons and smart tasks are particularly popular with colleagues ! Richard Scarrow, Assistant Headteacher, Old Leake Primary, Lincs (August 2017)

 

 

What do secondary colleagues say about keystage history?

Ben Walsh the highly accomplished textbook writer and inspirational INSET provider writes about the website:
Keystage history has three great strengths. Firstly, the coherent structure built around issues which every teacher recognises as being important. Secondly, the quality of the outstanding lessons which students and teachers will understand, follow, and God forbid, even enjoy! Thirdly, you get a real feel that someone who has ‘been there’ is just sitting down and talking to you, offering examples from his experience that will work in different circumstances. This is exactly what many departments need. 

Below are teachers’ views:

I think your website is fantastic, really useful ideas and lesson plans that I have used and adapted for different lessons. For several consecutive observations I was getting “good with outstanding features”. I then used one of the lesson plans on your website (Rosa Parks) and got “outstanding”. This obviously gave me the confidence to carry on planning my own outstanding lesson sequences and resources – so thank you very much! Hannah Wallace, Notre Dame, Southwark

We love the site and have certainly been inspired by the activities. We use many of them on a daily basis as a history department. It has helped to revolutionise one of my colleagues’ teaching.  The resources and activities are easily to follow, with clear lesson plans. We adapt a few things along the way, get ideas from some of them to create our own materials and they always go down well with the classes. We find the material particularly helpful with GCSE classes: we use most of the materials on international relations, the USA and the Vietnam War. Thoroughly Modern Millie is a great favourite of mine as is the lesson on the German naval threat in the lead up to WW1: it’s amazing how excited kids can get about sticking little ships on to a board! Chris McKie, Birkenhead School  

The Key Stage History website has been a real companion to me in regards to all areas of my practice. The resources for planning smart lessons have really changed my approach to assessments and how to develop key skills and concepts in lessons. Recently becoming Subject Leader of History I have been using different resources, such as the long term plans and how to incorporate key skills and concepts into learning in KS3. I also enjoy the fact it is kept up-to-date regularly and has a blog that gives insight into the current political and cultural side of History in the curriculum. Neil’s resources are organized in a really user friendly way and split into Key Stage to make it even more accessible. It is a one stop shop and is full of all the great ideas that Neil discusses on his courses. I can’t recommend the site highly enough. Lindsay Bruce 

Keystage history is an outstanding resource! The lesson plans and resources are fantastic. They promote enquiry based learning and engage students through the whole lesson. The quality of the resources is excellent and varied. Although the resources can be altered, there really is no need to as they allow for progression and engagement and all students are motivated to learn. The website is so much more though than lesson plans and resources. There are excellent pointers and ideas for all aspects of working in, or running a department. I was introduced to it by my previous head of department and the subscription was one of the first things I bought with my budget at my current school! A fabulous website, Andrea Smith, Head of History, Standish Community High School

I was recommended Keystage history through a colleague at one of my placements, she said it was hands down the best website for history teachers. I signed up right away. Keystage history is not just about providing lesson plans and resources it is structured to help you become an outstanding teacher and inspire you to be the absolute best teacher you can be. It is the most comprehensive guide to being an outstanding history teacher, be it in the classroom or as head of a department. I have used it to improve attainment and progress at KS4 and to effectively build SOW at KS3 that get the younger pupils excited about history. Lynne Madden, Bitterne Park School. Southampton 

“Keystage history has been a fantastic place to find imaginative ideas and engaging sources for my students. It has helped me deliver lessons where students think for themselves while solving historical questions.” Chris Rowlett, Assistant Headteacher, Woodbrook Vale High School 

I love the site! At the moment, I am leading quite a small department so the site is almost like having an extra person for me. I have found it really useful for helping me to reinvigorate my teaching and it’s great to look at just to get some ideas when you’re a bit stuck! All of the head of dept stuff which is on there is also really useful to me.   I’m really grateful that you’ve set it up – I have never really found anything like it and it’s great that everything I need is all in one place.  Adding the ‘upcoming resources’ bit recently was a really good idea tooAse Welsh, Astley Cooper School, Hertfordshire 

I find the site extremely helpful.  The lesson examples were the main reason I first signed up.  However going deeper, the site has been invaluable in helping me to change to Controlled Assessment at KS4, and the section on curriculum design and planning has prevented many a headache when adapting schemes to fit new thinking.  I have also found the blog to be both enlightening , and very useful when arguing with SLT regarding History’s place within the curriculum.  Andrew Key, Subject Leader Mill Chase School, Hampshire 

It goes without saying that your site is more than excellent.  It is invaluable. Laurence Skelding, British Overseas School, Karachi 

Having attended a course run by Neil Thompson and found it valuable I took out a subscription to his website Keystage history. I was very glad I did. The website is easy to use and very well set out . It contains a wealth of good ideas about pedagogy for all key stages and gets straight to the heart of thorny issues such as progression. There are excellent banks of lesson resources and exemplars, a number of which I have tried out this year to the evident enjoyment of classes. There is authoritative advice in all sections of the website and in the blog from Neil, an experienced History inspector who really understands the issues and the gaps between government policy and practicality. It is reassuring to read trenchant views here similar to my own. This website has been compiled with great care and understanding and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wishes to improve learning in the History classroom.  Andy Dalgleish Head of Cultural faculty, Helston Community College 

Keystage history is a really excellent resource, very easy to use. It does what it says in the home page: a one stop shop but also includes great links to external sites. I like the detailed examples and work samples that go alongside points made. I would like to thank Keystage History very much – you have saved me a lot of time and stress, particularly during Ofsted inspections. Penny Goalby, Safa School

We are using the site a great deal. It’s brilliant, really. We have slightly modified one or two lessons to suit a particular group, but there’s some great ideas there. The Battalion 101 lesson had a great impact on the students, and the debate went on into lunchtime! Very interesting to see how the kids developed such different interpretations. Thanks for your help.  Lee Williams, Thomas Adams School, Shropshire

Anne Richardson, History Subject Leader, Toynbee School, Chandler’s Ford
Keystage History is our first port of call for inspirational and high quality lesson plans/ ideas and resources and rarely a week goes by without us using something in our lessons from the website – we have particularly appreciated the Liberal Reforms resources which have certainly livened up our lessons! I also find the sections on Curriculum Design, Planning and Progression for example, invaluable in helping me to assess where we are as a department and helping us to plan our development. Hot Topics and In the News are really useful and visited regularly…. in fact it all is … a first class resource and amazing value! 

Richard McFahn, when Humanities adviser in West Sussex wrote
My first port of call when asked to work with teachers across the age range is always keystagehistory.co.uk. This website is simply immense. It has clear, sensible advice, training activities and outstanding lessons to download and use off the peg. I cannot recommend keystagehistory highly enough. It really is a treasure chest of brilliant ideas and offers practical solutions for all teachers across the age range. It covers every area you need to know about as a teacher, subject leader and a history adviser. It is like having your own on-line expert always available at your finger tips! The subscription is money very well spent.

Kate Mason, Head of Humanities , Ivanhoe College, Leicestershire.
The kids love the lesson about the cruelty of the Lash and it really gets them to consider evidence in detail and the context of the evidence. It helps them to understand that significance and interpretations change over time. I have found the site very interesting, myself.

Kathryn Langford-Holt, Bearwood College, Wokingham 
I have been a subscriber to Key Stage History for three years and I have found it to be an invaluable source of information on effective pedagogy.  The excellent resources and advice have been a continual support throughout my development as both a new teacher and as a Head of History.  I quickly realised how indispensable this website was when I moved  schools and I have swiftly re-subscribed and extolled its virtues to my new department! 

Jenny Laycock, City of Norwich School
The site has helped me with new and innovative ways of teaching concepts and ideas with the range of teaching resources and also allowed me to develop professionally looking at ideas like AFL in the classroom.  With most of us not able to go on expensive INSET now, the site provides a way of looking into other classrooms and seeing what other people do.  I also like the way the resources are produced to a really high quality, but they can be easily adapted to suit the needs of our classes/pupils. )

Claire Horobin, Director of Social Studies at Sidney Stringer School Coventry: “I find the site very user friendly and inspirational.  The lessons that I’ve used all went down really well, and were easy to adapt to my individual class needs. I liked the way that the lessons all had clear progression in them, and the resources were of a really high quality.  There is no doubt the lessons have enhanced the quality of our students’ learning.  I really rate the resources and think the site is very good value for money”.

Tim Johnson
I teach at a school in North Birmingham and it is my first Subject Leader’s post. I have to say I have found the resources and advice on your website extremely useful in helping me put things in place for moving the department even further forward next year’.  

 

Reviews about Neil’s advisory work from secondary colleagues

Simon Harrison, History AST, now Deputy Headteacher at Swanmore Technology College, nr. Southampton writes:
During the 13 years I have worked with Neil his support has never been less than outstanding. The one to one support he offers is constructive, incisive and always focussed on improving the quality of learning. Neil’s combination of passion for his subject and breadth of experience has always ensured that his advice carries great authority, continuously developing the practice of both myself, my department and countless other history teachers in Hampshire and beyond. Neil’s courses are meticulously planned and professionally delivered to ensure relevance, engagement and inspiration. I’ve yet to attend a course run by Neil that hasn’t left me with an array of ideas to apply in the classroom, many of them the next day! I, and perhaps more importantly the pupils I teach, have benefited enormously from working with Neil – I would recommend him to any teacher who wants both inspiration and practicality, a rare combination in my experience.

Claire Conley-Harper, Head of History, Court Moor School, Fleet writes:
Neil’s support has been invaluable to us, providing inspiration, encouragement and challenge. He promotes thought provoking and intelligent debate about teaching History, alongside practical support to develop classroom activities and enhance the experience of History for students.

Steve Rollett, Head of History Noadswood School, Dibden Purlieu, nr. Southampton writes:
The quality of Neil’s understanding, analysis and advice relating to History teaching is without question the best that I have found. Neil has the ability to offer cutting-edge solutions to any issues – teaching and learning, leadership, curriculum, assessment and many more. The improvements we have made at KS3 have been drawn from work done by Neil. He always seems to be one step ahead with an insight into the latest thinking, a new idea to try out or a better twist on an old lesson.

Sarah Herrity, History AST, Wyvern Technology College, nr. Eastleigh writes:
Neil has had an invaluable impact on my practice as a teacher, Head of History and as an AST. He has inspired and supported me and countless other history teachers within Hampshire to achieve the very highest standards in all of these roles. His breadth and depth of knowledge in terms of history as a subject, teaching practice and current educational issues/research ensures that his advice is both tried and tested and up to date and therefore carries great weight.

Neil Bates, Head of History, Fort Hill School, Basingstoke writes: 
Above and beyond a thorough knowledge of all aspects of history teaching (from government policy down to the nitty-gritty of classroom practice), what always impressed me about Neil was his ability to innovate. Where I would see one possibility for a lesson or activity, he would see several. Neil would always see potential pitfalls and have solutions ready at hand. He has an ability to see how an idea for a lesson or an activity could be adapted for different contexts, whether these be students, schools or practitioners. I can say in all honesty that any success I have had as a history teacher has been supported, guided and encouraged by Neil.

What people say about Neil’s INSET work

Primary

The most useful, well-prepared, interesting engaging course I have ever been on. (Course delivered in Leeds on Exciting history at KS1 and 2)
Katie Pitts Lofthouse Gate Primary School

Neil Thompson is an extremely effective communicator with excellent subject knowledge and lots of constructive ideas that have made me much more confident (Course delivered in Leeds on Exciting history at KS1 and 2)
Bethan Irving, St Paulinus RC Primary School

Neil Thompson led a fantastic, inspirational INSET helping us to develop the teaching of History at St. Luke’s. Delivered in a really practical, engaging manner, all staff left brimming with ideas and full of enthusiasm to teach creative, thought provoking History. In addition, having access to the website has been invaluable! There are so many exciting yet challenging lesson ideas which can be easily tailored to suit the needs of any class. An incredibly useful resource!
Sarah Hedges, St Luke’s Primary School, Sway, Hampshire

Secondary

What a revelation! I had been so scared of differentiation and relied on outcome only, I didn’t know where to start. Neil’s course was fantastic and instantly made me feel like I could differentiate every lesson, without having a nervous breakdown. There were tips for quick differentiation tasks for example push questions for more able and more thorough tasks such as reducing sources for less able and using word frames. It had never occurred to me that I could differentiate pictures, these tips have served me well for some excellent starters and tasks to develop thinking skills. I have already seen the positives from the course, especially in the more able/G+T students who are now comfortable thinking beyond the work set and really look forward to their extension questions to discuss – they like to know that they are developing skills that will serve them well in their GCSE. The course was such a success for me that my head teacher asked me to run a training session for new staff to help them with differentiation. 
Lindsay Bruce 

I was inspired by Neil’s delivery. It was the best course I have been on for 20 years. Neil Thompson is an outstanding practitioner at the top of his game with lots of practical strategies. (course on Raising attainment in GCSE history)
Phil Winstanley, Failsworth High School

Neil is an inspirational historian. The course was outstanding, very interactive and I got lots from it. (course on Maximising performance in Key Stage 4 history)
Kerri McEleney leading teacher St Mary Magdalene Academy

Reviews of National Course on differentiation in history at KS3-5,
Outstanding. Lots of excellent, creative strategies, well communicated. Charlotte Coleman, Queen Elizabeth School, Barnet  
Fun, friendly, informative and challenging, this course was outstanding. Neil has amazing knowledge and is a great teacher
.Natalie Lytton, Claverham Community College

What delegates thought of Neil’s course on raising attainment in GCSE history :
Outstanding in all respects. Neil’s course was really beneficial: great range of techniques for teachers at all stages of experience. Very supportive and really useful. 
Dan Elson, Marling School

The course was exceptionally useful as well as enjoyable. Lots of great NEW strategies and teaching ideas which can be implemented tomorrow in the classroom. Melanie Davies, Ecclesbourne School

An outstanding course. It was not rushed but very full and informative. It has given me so much to think about . I want to try the ideas as soon as possible. Sara Pearman, Woodlands Academy

Neil’s course (on highly effective teaching and learning at AS and A2) was outstanding. Lots of superb teaching ideas delivered in a very engaging and interesting format. I really recommend this course – the best I’ve been on. 
Kate Sykes, Solihull School

Share
KSH footer silhouette